Where do you work?:
PJ's Corp
User Type:
Pizza Delivery Driver
Car you drive:
2007 Ford Focus
1993 Toyota Camry
PostPosted: Tue Jun 18, 2013 12:33 am
Hello everyone, I am new to this forum and was wondering if anyone could hep me with a question that I have been having trouble finding a answer for a long time now.

So, I understand that it is company policy that we are unable to carry a handgun while at work. Though, it is also known that some drivers still carry a weapon but you never hear about it until it's used. Would any Papa John's employee be able to SEARCH your vehicle at any time to check to make sure there are no weapons?
Master Driver
Where do you work?:
Papa John's franchise
User Type:
Pizza Delivery Driver
Car you drive:
2010 Ford Fusion
PostPosted: Tue Jun 18, 2013 1:15 am
Welcome to the Board!

I'm not a lawyer, so I cant offer you legal advice. I can tell you about the experience I have gathered over the years talking to many thousands of drivers...

I have never heard of an employer searching anyone's vehicles for weapons. I have heard of them looking inside for trash, neatness, cleanliness and telling drivers to clean out their cars.

Can your employer ask to search your car? Sure, they could, just as they might ask you to run an errand for them or any other non delivery request they might make. How you respond is up to you. If they insist, you could refuse, but you may risk losing your job. Except in states that outright prohibit it, it's likely legal for them to ask, but you also usually have the right to refuse.

The reality is that you are always at some risk when breaking company policy. The risk in your case is losing your job. Many if not most drivers in your situation say 'I'd rather be fired than be dead' or 'better to be judged by 12 than carried by 6'. What you decide to do is entirely up to you.

I suggest that you Google the gun laws in your state to see what laws apply to your situation.

What do you gun guys think?